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      June 6, 2014 
 
Mr. Lee Gordon, Executive Director 
Arkansas Appraiser Licensing & Certification Board 
101 East Capitol, Suite 430 
Little Rock, AR  72201 
 
 
RE:  ASC Compliance Review of Arkansas’s Appraiser Regulatory Program 
 
Dear Mr. Gordon: 
 
 The Appraisal Subcommittee (ASC) staff conducted an ASC Compliance Review (Review) of the 
Arkansas appraiser regulatory program (Program) on March 4-5, 2014, to determine the Program’s 
compliance with Title XI of the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989, 
as amended.   
 
 The ASC considered the preliminary results of the Review and the State’s response to those results.  
The Program has been awarded an ASC Finding of “Good.”  The final ASC Compliance Review Report 
(Report) is attached. 
 
 The ASC identified the following area of non-compliance:   
 

 States must, at a minimum, adopt and/or implement all relevant AQB Criteria;1  
 
 ASC staff will confirm that appropriate corrective actions have been taken during the next Review. 
Arkansas will remain on a two-year Review Cycle. 

 
 This letter and the attached Report are public records and available on the ASC website.  Please 
contact us if you have any questions about this Report. 
 
   Sincerely, 
 
 
 
     James R. Park 
     Executive Director 
 
 
Attachment 
cc: Mr. Drew Vance, Board Chair 
       

                                                 
1 Title XI §§ 1116 (a), (c) and (e), 12 U.S.C. § 3345; Title XI § 1118 (a), 12 U.S.C. § 3347; ASC Policy Statement 1. 



ASC Findings Description 
 

 

ASC  
Finding 

Rating Criteria Review Cycle*  

Excellent 

 State meets all Title XI mandates and complies with requirements of ASC 
Policy Statements 

 State maintains a strong regulatory Program 

 Very low risk of Program failure 

2-year 

Good 

 State meets the majority of Title XI mandates and complies with the 
majority of ASC Policy Statement requirements 

 Deficiencies are minor in nature 

 State is adequately addressing deficiencies identified and correcting them in 
the normal course of business 

 State maintains an effective regulatory Program 

 Low risk of Program failure 

2-year 

Needs 
Improvement 

 State does not meet all Title XI mandates and does not comply with all 
requirements of ASC Policy Statements  

 Deficiencies are material but manageable and if not corrected in a timely 
manner pose a potential risk to the Program 

 State may have a history of repeated deficiencies but is showing progress 
toward correcting deficiencies 

 State regulatory Program needs improvement 

 Moderate risk of Program failure 

2-year with additional 
monitoring 

Not Satisfactory 

 State does not meet all Title XI mandates and does not comply with all 
requirements of ASC Policy Statements 

 Deficiencies present a significant risk and if not corrected in a timely 
manner pose a well-defined risk to the Program  

 State may have a history of repeated deficiencies and requires more 
supervision to ensure corrective actions are progressing 

 State regulatory Program has substantial deficiencies 

 Substantial risk of Program failure 

1-year 

Poor2 

 State does not meet Title XI mandates and does not comply with 
requirements of ASC Policy Statements 

 Deficiencies are significant and severe, require immediate attention and if 
not corrected represent critical flaws in the Program 

 State may have a history of repeated deficiencies and may show a lack of 
willingness or ability to correct deficiencies   

 High risk of Program failure 

Continuous 
monitoring 

*Program history or nature of deficiency may warrant a more accelerated Review Cycle. 
 

                                                 
2 An ASC Finding of “Poor” may result in significant consequences to the State.  See Policy Statement 5, Reciprocity; see also Policy 
Statement 8, Interim Sanctions. 
 



PM:  K. Klamet

Requirement/Guidance ASC Staff Observations State Response Required State Actions  Recommended State Actions  General Comments

YES NO AC
Statutes, Regulations, Policies and 
Procedures: X
States must have policies, practices 
and procedures consistent with Title 
XI.  (Title XI § 1118 (a), 12 U.S.C. § 
3347; ASC Policy Statement 1.)

Arkansas statute §17‐14‐206(b) establishes that 
the Board may not investigate actions of, or 
conduct any disciplinary hearing regarding, any 
licensee, registrant or certificate holder wherein 
the action initiating the complaint or 
investigation is more than 3 years prior to such 
complaint or investigation.  In addition, 
Arkansas statute §17‐14‐103(23&24) requires 
the scope of practice for each credential level 
meet that prescribed by the "ASC" and the 
financial institutions.  This reference to the 
"ASC" rather than the "AQB" is in error.

On May 12, 2014, the Board reported 
that achieving a change to the 3‐year 
limitation in the Arkansas statute 
would be a political challenge. 

The Board also reported that it will 
attempt to correct the incorrect 
reference to the "ASC" rather than 
the "AQB" during the 2015 legislative 
session.

None  The Board should take prompt 
action to amend its statutes to 
comply with the requirements of 
Title XI.  Closure of a complaint 
based solely on the age of the 
subject appraisal which results in 
dismissal without investigation of 
the merits of the complaint, is 
inconsistent with the ASC's Policy 
Statements and the Title XI 
requirement that States assure 
effective supervision of the 
activities of credentialed 
appraisers.  The Board should 
provide ASC staff with copies of 
proposed legislative 
amendments.

During  the next Compliance 
Review, ASC staff will pay 
particular attention to this area 
for compliance with Title XI and 
ASC Policy Statement 1.

ASC Compliance Review Report

Umbrella Agency:  Independent

ASC Finding:  Good

Compliance 
(YES/NO) 

Areas of Concern 
(AC)

ASC Compliance Review Date:  March 4‐5, 2014 Review Period:  March 2012 to March 2014

Number of State Credentialed Appraisers on National Registry:  
825

Arkansas Appraiser Regulatory Program (Program)

Review Cycle:  Two Year 

Final Report Issue Date:  June 6, 2014

Arkansas Appraiser Licensing & Certification Board 
(Board) / Decision Making
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PM:  K. Klamet

Requirement/Guidance ASC Staff Observations State Response Required State Actions  Recommended State Actions  General Comments

YES NO AC

ASC Compliance Review Report

Umbrella Agency:  Independent

ASC Finding:  Good

Compliance 
(YES/NO) 

Areas of Concern 
(AC)

ASC Compliance Review Date:  March 4‐5, 2014 Review Period:  March 2012 to March 2014

Number of State Credentialed Appraisers on National Registry:  
825

Arkansas Appraiser Regulatory Program (Program)

Review Cycle:  Two Year 

Final Report Issue Date:  June 6, 2014

Arkansas Appraiser Licensing & Certification Board 
(Board) / Decision Making

Statutes, Regulations, Policies and 
Procedures continued:

X
States must, at a minimum, adopt 
and/or implement all relevant AQB 
Criteria.  (Title XI §§ 1116 (a), (c) and 
(e), 12 U.S.C. § 3345; Title XI § 1118 
(a), 12 U.S.C. § 3347; ASC Policy 
Statement 1.)

A review of Arkansas's Statutes and Regulations 
revealed the following inconsistencies with AQB 
Criteria regarding: (1) continuing education (CE) 
requirements; and (2) Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) 
instructor requirements.

Individuals are required to complete 14 hours of 
CE for each year during the period preceding 
the credential renewal.  Arkansas regulation 
Section X C. allows State Registered appraisers 
to carry over up to 14 hours of CE into the next 
renewal cycle.

Credit may only be awarded for USPAP CE when 
the course is instructed by at least 1 AQB 
certified USPAP instructor who is also a State 
certified appraiser.  Arkansas regulations 
Section III B.1., Section V B.1. and Section X E. 
requires instructors of USPAP courses to be 
approved through the AQB's USPAP instructor 
certification program, but does not reference 
the requirement that at least 1 of the approved 
instructors must also be a State certified 
appraiser. 

On May 12, 2014, the Board reported 
that they have begun the process of 
correcting the identified 
inconsistencies in accordance with 
the Arkansas Administrative 
Procedures Act.

Arkansas must continue the 
process to amend its rules 
to bring them into 
compliance with AQB 
Criteria, and provide ASC 
staff with a copy of the final 
rules once adopted.

None During  the next Compliance 
Review, ASC staff will pay 
particular attention to this area 
for compliance AQB Criteria.
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PM:  K. Klamet

Requirement/Guidance ASC Staff Observations State Response Required State Actions  Recommended State Actions  General Comments

YES NO AC

ASC Compliance Review Report

Umbrella Agency:  Independent

ASC Finding:  Good

Compliance 
(YES/NO) 

Areas of Concern 
(AC)

ASC Compliance Review Date:  March 4‐5, 2014 Review Period:  March 2012 to March 2014

Number of State Credentialed Appraisers on National Registry:  
825

Arkansas Appraiser Regulatory Program (Program)

Review Cycle:  Two Year 

Final Report Issue Date:  June 6, 2014

Arkansas Appraiser Licensing & Certification Board 
(Board) / Decision Making

Temporary Practice: X
No compliance issues noted. N/A None None None

National Registry: X
No compliance issues noted. N/A None None None

Application Process: X
No compliance issues noted. N/A None None None

Reciprocity: X
No compliance issues noted. N/A None None None

Education: X
No compliance issues noted. N/A None None None

Enforcement: X
No compliance issues noted. N/A None None None
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