
Appraisal Subcommittee 
Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council 

 

1401 H Street, NW Suite 760 Washington, DC 20005 (202) 289-2735  Fax (202) 289-4101 

 
 
 

      June 4, 2014 
 
Mr. Bruce Unangst, Executive Director 
Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Board 
P O Box 14785 
Baton Rouge, LA  70898-4785 
 
RE:  ASC Compliance Review of Louisiana’s Appraiser Regulatory Program 
 
Dear Mr. Unangst: 
 
 The Appraisal Subcommittee (ASC) staff conducted an ASC Compliance Review (Review) of the 
Louisiana appraiser regulatory program (Program) on February 4-6, 2014, to determine the Program’s 
compliance with Title XI of the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989, 
as amended.   
 
 The ASC considered the preliminary results of the Review and the State’s response to those results.  
The Program has been awarded an ASC Finding of “Good.”  The final ASC Compliance Review Report 
(Report) is attached. 
 
 The ASC identified the following areas of non-compliance:   
 

 States must, at a minimum, adopt and/or implement all relevant AQB Criteria;1 and 
 States must have a reciprocity policy in place for issuing a reciprocal credential to an appraiser 

from another State under the conditions specified in Title XI.2  
 
 ASC staff will confirm that appropriate corrective actions have been taken during the next Review. 
Louisiana will be moved to a two-year Review Cycle. 

 
 This letter and the attached Report are public records and available on the ASC website.  Please 
contact us if you have any questions about this Report. 
 
   Sincerely, 
 
 
 
     James R. Park 
     Executive Director 
 
 
Attachment 
cc: Ms. Summer Mire, Confidential Assistant to Director 
      Ms. Anne Brassett, Program Administrator  
                                                 
1 Title XI §§ 1116 (a), (c) and (e), 12 U.S.C. § 3345; Title XI § 1118 (a), 12 U.S.C. § 3347; ASC Policy Statement 1. 
2 Title XI § 1122 (b), 12 U.S.C. § 3351; ASC Policy Statement 5. 



ASC Findings Description 
 

 

ASC  
Finding 

Rating Criteria Review Cycle*  

Excellent 

 State meets all Title XI mandates and complies with requirements of ASC 
Policy Statements 

 State maintains a strong regulatory Program 

 Very low risk of Program failure 

2-year 

Good 

 State meets the majority of Title XI mandates and complies with the 
majority of ASC Policy Statement requirements 

 Deficiencies are minor in nature 

 State is adequately addressing deficiencies identified and correcting them in 
the normal course of business 

 State maintains an effective regulatory Program 

 Low risk of Program failure 

2-year 

Needs 
Improvement 

 State does not meet all Title XI mandates and does not comply with all 
requirements of ASC Policy Statements  

 Deficiencies are material but manageable and if not corrected in a timely 
manner pose a potential risk to the Program 

 State may have a history of repeated deficiencies but is showing progress 
toward correcting deficiencies 

 State regulatory Program needs improvement 

 Moderate risk of Program failure 

2-year with additional 
monitoring 

Not Satisfactory 

 State does not meet all Title XI mandates and does not comply with all 
requirements of ASC Policy Statements 

 Deficiencies present a significant risk and if not corrected in a timely 
manner pose a well-defined risk to the Program  

 State may have a history of repeated deficiencies and requires more 
supervision to ensure corrective actions are progressing 

 State regulatory Program has substantial deficiencies 

 Substantial risk of Program failure 

1-year 

Poor3 

 State does not meet Title XI mandates and does not comply with 
requirements of ASC Policy Statements 

 Deficiencies are significant and severe, require immediate attention and if 
not corrected represent critical flaws in the Program 

 State may have a history of repeated deficiencies and may show a lack of 
willingness or ability to correct deficiencies   

 High risk of Program failure 

Continuous 
monitoring 

*Program history or nature of deficiency may warrant a more accelerated Review Cycle. 
 

                                                 
3 An ASC Finding of “Poor” may result in significant consequences to the State.  See Policy Statement 5, Reciprocity; see also Policy 
Statement 8, Interim Sanctions. 
 



PM: K. Klamet

Requirement/Guidance ASC Staff Observations State Response Required State Actions  Recommended State 
Actions 

General Comments

YES NO AC
Statutes, Regulations, Policies and 
Procedures: X
States must, at a minimum, adopt 
and/or implement all relevant AQB 
Criteria.  (Title XI §§ 1116 (a), (c) and 
(e), 12 U.S.C. § 3345; Title XI § 1118 
(a), 12 U.S.C. § 3347; ASC Policy 
Statement 1.)

A review of the Louisiana Statutes and Regulations revealed the following 
inconsistencies with AQB Criteria regarding:  (1) experience log 
requirements; (2) continuing education (CE) credit for non‐student 
participation; and (3) requirements for distance education.

(1)  Experience claimed by an applicant must include, in the experience log, 
the description of work performed by the trainee/applicant and scope of 
the review and supervision of the supervising appraiser.  Louisiana statute 
3397 B.(3) does not conform to AQB Criteria as the scope of the review and 
supervision of the supervising appraiser is not included.
(2)  Up to 1/2 of an individual's CE credit may be granted for participation, 
other than as a student, in appraisal educational processes and programs.  
Louisiana statute 3408 C.(2) does not conform to AQB Criteria as non‐
student participation for CE credit is not limited.  Louisiana regulation 
10409 D. does not conform to AQB Criteria as non‐student participation for 
CE credit is limited to 1/2 only for teaching. 
(3)  Providers of distance education courses must be approved by the 
International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC).  Louisiana 
regulation 10417 A. requires that distance education courses must be 
accredited by the American Council on Education (ACE) instead of the 
IDECC.

On May 9, 2014, the Commission reported 
that legislation was filed with the Louisiana 
Legislature to make the necessary statute 
changes.  The Commission expects the 
legislation to be passed before May 30, 2014, 
and to become effective upon signature by the 
Governor.

The Commission also reported that rules have 
been drafted and will be promulgated to 
amend the non‐compliant sections.  

Louisiana must continue the 
process to amend its statutes 
and rules to bring them into 
compliance with AQB Criteria, 
and provide ASC staff with a 
copy of the final statutes and 
rules once adopted.

None During  the next Compliance 
Review, ASC staff will pay 
particular attention to this 
area for compliance with 
AQB Criteria.

ASC Compliance Review Report

Umbrella Agency:  Louisiana Real Estate Commission (Commission)

ASC Finding:  Good

Compliance (YES/NO) 
Areas of Concern (AC)  

ASC Compliance Review Date:  February 4‐6, 2014 Review Period: March 2012 to February 2014

Number of State Credentialed Appraisers on National Registry:  1,271

Louisiana Appraiser Regulatory Program (Program)

Review Cycle: Two Year 

Final Report Issue Date:  June 4, 2014

Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Board (Board)/Decision 
Making
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PM: K. Klamet

Requirement/Guidance ASC Staff Observations State Response Required State Actions  Recommended State 
Actions 

General Comments

YES NO AC

ASC Compliance Review Report

Umbrella Agency:  Louisiana Real Estate Commission (Commission)

ASC Finding:  Good

Compliance (YES/NO) 
Areas of Concern (AC)  

ASC Compliance Review Date:  February 4‐6, 2014 Review Period: March 2012 to February 2014

Number of State Credentialed Appraisers on National Registry:  1,271

Louisiana Appraiser Regulatory Program (Program)

Review Cycle: Two Year 

Final Report Issue Date:  June 4, 2014

Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Board (Board)/Decision 
Making

Statutes, Regulations, Policies and 
Procedures Continued: X
States must, at a minimum, adopt 
and/or implement all relevant AQB 
Criteria.  (Title XI §§ 1116 (a), (c) and 
(e), 12 U.S.C. § 3345; Title XI § 1118 
(a), 12 U.S.C. § 3347; ASC Policy 
Statement 1.)

A review of the Louisiana Statutes and Regulations revealed the following 
inconsistencies with AQB Criteria regarding:  (1) acceptable experience 
credit; and (2) supervisory appraiser requirements.

(1)  Applicants must claim the number of actual hours worked for 
experience credit.  Louisiana regulations 10311 A. 1. and 10313 A. 1. 
requires that experience credit for an appraisal report be divided equally 
among all signatories; and Louisiana regulation 10317 allows a prorated 
number of points for each co‐signed report, review, article and textbook to 
be awarded to each signer of the report.
(2)  Supervising appraisers shall be in good standing and not subject to any 
disciplinary action within the last 2 years that affects the supervisor's legal 
ability to engage in appraisal practice.  Louisiana regulation 10308 B. only 
limits a trainee from performing any appraisals under the supervision of a 
licensed appraiser whose license has been suspended or revoked.

On May 9, 2014, the Commission reported 
that rules have been drafted and will be 
promulgated to amend the non‐compliant 
sections.  

Louisiana must continue the 
process to amend its rules to 
bring them into compliance 
with AQB Criteria, and 
provide ASC staff with a copy 
of the final rules once 
adopted.

None During  the next Compliance 
Review, ASC staff will pay 
particular attention to this 
area for compliance with 
AQB Criteria.

Statutes, Regulations, Policies and 
Procedures Continued: X
States must have a reciprocity policy 
in place for issuing a reciprocal 
credential to an appraiser from 
another State under the conditions 
specified in Title XI.  (Title XI § 1122 
(b), 12 U.S.C. § 3351; ASC Policy 
Statement 5.)

Louisiana's statute does not comply with the requirements of Title XI and 
ASC Policy Statement 5.

On May 9, 2014, the Commission reported 
that legislation was filed with the Louisiana 
Legislature to make the necessary statute 
changes.  The Commission expects the 
legislation to be passed before May 30, 2014, 
and to become effective upon signature by the 
Governor.

The Commission also reported that, although 
the statute has not been officially amended, in 
practice the State has complied with the Title 
XI requirements for issuing reciprocal 
credentials.  

Louisiana must continue the 
process to amend its statutes 
to bring them into 
compliance with Title XI, and 
provide ASC staff with a copy 
of the final statute once 
adopted.

None  During  the next Compliance 
Review, ASC staff will pay 
particular attention to this 
area for compliance with 
Title XI and ASC Policy 
Statement 5.

Temporary Practice: X
No compliance issues noted. N/A None None None
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PM: K. Klamet

Requirement/Guidance ASC Staff Observations State Response Required State Actions  Recommended State 
Actions 

General Comments

YES NO AC

ASC Compliance Review Report

Umbrella Agency:  Louisiana Real Estate Commission (Commission)

ASC Finding:  Good

Compliance (YES/NO) 
Areas of Concern (AC)  

ASC Compliance Review Date:  February 4‐6, 2014 Review Period: March 2012 to February 2014

Number of State Credentialed Appraisers on National Registry:  1,271

Louisiana Appraiser Regulatory Program (Program)

Review Cycle: Two Year 

Final Report Issue Date:  June 4, 2014

Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Board (Board)/Decision 
Making

National Registry: X
No compliance issues noted. N/A None None None

Application Process: X
No compliance issues noted. N/A None None None

Reciprocity: X
States must have a reciprocity policy 
in place for issuing a reciprocal 
credential to an appraiser from 
another State under the conditions 
specified in Title XI.  (Title XI § 1122 
(b), 12 U.S.C. § 3351; ASC Policy 
Statement 5.)

Louisiana's statute does not comply with the requirements of Title XI and 
ASC Policy Statement 5, although in practice the State appears to operate in 
compliance with those requirements.

On May 9, 2014, the Commission reported 
that legislation was filed with the Louisiana 
Legislature to make the necessary statute 
changes.  The Commission expects the 
legislation to be passed before May 30, 2014, 
and to become effective upon signature by the 
Governor.

None To strengthen the 
Program, Louisiana 
should continue the 
process to amend its 
statutes to reflect what is 
being done in practice.

During  the next Compliance 
Review, ASC staff will pay 
particular attention to this 
area for compliance with 
Title XI and ASC Policy 
Statement 5.

Education: X
No compliance issues noted. N/A None None None

Enforcement: X
No compliance issues noted. N/A None None None
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