



REAL ESTATE APPRAISER LICENSING AND CERTIFICATION BOARD

David Shields, Chairman Linda Petrella, Vice Chair Glenn Rohr, Secretary Sharron L. Knotts, Executive Director 2110 Kanawha Blvd., East Suite 101 Charleston, West Virginia 25311 304-558-3919 Fax 304-558-3983

Lynda King, Administrative Assistant
Karen Hudson, Administrative Assistant

July 9, 1998

Mr. Herbert S. Yolles Chairman Appraisal Subcommittee 2110 !ennsylvania Avenue, NW, Suite 200! ashington, !C 20037

Dear M. Yolles:

The following reflects the Board's response to the November 12-13, 1997, Appraisal Subcommittee's review of our appraiser regulatory program.

• West Virginia does not always collect the appropriate Registry fees from appraisers at initial licensing or certification.

West Virginia generally issues licenses and certifications for a one-year period with all credentials expiring on September 30 each year. The Board has eliminated the issuance of 13- or 14-month licenses and certifications and now collects the \$25 National Registry fee for each year or each portion of a year that an appraiser is licensed or certified.

Certified residential appraisers are required to have 135 hours of education.
 This requirement could impede reciprocity with appraisers in other States.

West Virginia requires, by statute, a person have 135 hours of education to qualify as a certified residential appraiser. West Virginia statute also addresses "License by reciprocity. - If, in the determination of the board, another state or territory or the !istrict of !olumbia is deemed to have substantially equivalent license or certification laws for real estate appraisers, an applicant for licensure or certification in this state who is licensed or certified under the law of such other state, territory or district may obtain a license or certificate as a real estate appraiser in this state

BOARD MEMBERS

David Shields, Bluefield Linda Petrella, Charleston Glenn Rohr, Buckhannon David Burch, Hamlin Larry McDaniel, Parkersburg Donald Mickey, Charles Town Tammy Owen, Hurricane Larry Puccio, Fairmont Gary Smith, Charleston

upon such terms and conditions as may be determined by the board; **Provided,** That the laws of such state, territory or !istrict accord substantially equal reciprocal rights to a licensed or certified real estate appraiser in good standing in this state..."

Therefore, as promulgated by the West Virginia Legislature, if a licensed or certified appraiser from another state, territory or !istrict applies for a "license by reciprocity" and the state in which they are originally licensed affords such reciprocal rights to a licensed or certified appraiser from West Virginia, West Virginia will issue a reciprocal license to the applicant.

• Only certified general appraisers are permitted to appraise nonresidential property valued at \$100,000 or more.

WV Code 37-14-28 states that a licensed residential appraiser and a certified residential appraiser can appraise non-residential real estate when the value is less than \$100,000. The Subcommittee's recommendation that West Virginia modify this requirement to match the Agencies' regulations is one that will have to be addressed in the Legislature since it is set in statute.

If you have any questions regarding the Board's responses, please do not hesitate contacting us.

Sincerely,

Sharron L. Knotts Executive Director

Dan Knotts

CERTIFIED MAIL RETURN RECEIPT