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Re: 2003 Field Review of Wisconsin’s Real Estate Appraiser Regulatory Program

Dear Mr. Fritts:

I am writing in response to your January 7, 2004, correspondence in which you outlined
the results of the Appraisal Subcommittee’s (“ASC”) October 14-15, 2003, field review of
Wisconsin’s real estate appraiser regulatory program.

First, I would like to take this opportunity to thank Ms. Vicki Ledbetter and Mr. Dennis
Greene for the guidance that they provided, and also for the professionalism that they exhibited
during the review process.

Second, the Department’s response to the issues and concerns raised in your January 7,
2004, correspondence is as follows:

» Wisconsin’s temporary practice fees are inconsistent with Title XI and ASC Policy
Statement S.

As noted in the ASC’s audit report, the Department adopted a fee structure that increased
temporary practice fees to $162, $167, and $185 for credentials at the licensed, certified
residential, and certified general levels, respectively. Your concern is that these fees exceed the
$150 maximum per assignment established in the ASC’s Policy Statement 5.

Section 458.095 (4), Stats., states, in part, that individuals applying for temporary
registrations must meet “all other requirements established in rules promulgated by the
department for the regulation of temporary appraiser practice”. Subsection RL 81.03 (1) (c), Code,
states, in part, that the temporary registration applicant must “pay the fee specified in subs. 440.05
(2), Stats”. Subsection 440.05 (2), Stats., refer to the $162, $167, and $185 fees for licensed and
certified appraisers that were referred to in the ASC audit report.

Since subs. 458.095 (4), Stats., permits the Department to establish additional
requirements for temporary registration by rule, the Department will attempt to amend its rules to
reduce the temporary fees for licensed and certified appraiser credentials to an amount below the
$150 maximum established by the ASC in Policy Statement 5. Alternatively, the Department will
seek an amendment to the Wisconsin Statutes.



* Some complaints were not resolved in a timely fashion.

I agree with the ASC’s conclusion that some of the real estate appraiser complaints were not
resolved in a timely fashion. I also agree with the ASC’s recommendation that the Board and
Department must continue their efforts to resolve the backlog of old complaints.

One of my highest priorities is to have the Department staff resolve old, pending complaints
for all of the regulatory authorities, including complaints involving the Wisconsin Real Estate
Appraisers Board. Shortly after I became Secretary, I established three mandatory deadlines for
the completion of old pending complaint cases. Those deadlines have been strictly enforced and
two of the deadlines have been met. I am confident that the third deadline will also be met. It is an
agency goal to have a current complaint handling caseload with the Board and all of the other
regulatory authorities for which the Department must provide complaint handling services.

The Appraisal Subcommittee noted in its report that ASC Policy Statement 10 specifies that
complaints must be investigated and resolved within one year from when they are received and
concluded that new complaints be resolved within one year.

As I noted previously, I am committed to handling complaint cases for all of the regulatory
authorities, including the Board, as quickly as possible. In meeting this commitment, I must be
sure that the Department’s staff provides fair and equal treatment to all for the regulatory
authorities, including the Board. Once we have eliminated the old pending cases, we will be in a
better position to establish realistic timelines for handling more recent complaints. However,
eliminating the older pending cases takes time and effort. We are doing that and will continue to
do it. At the same time, we are faced with shrinking resources and increasing demands. For
example, the Department is mandated under Wisconsin law to handle certain cases for another
regulatory authority within a specific timeframe or the cases cannot be pursued. The deadline in
question is very short. The numbers of cases that fall within that statutory mandate continue to
grow. The cases involved can be very complex and tremendously time consuming. The
Department is unable to add resources to address that caseload growth and time commitment. We
are doing what we can to handle complaint cases as quickly as possible, but we must do so within
the staffing resources available to the Department.



* Wisconsin’s process for enforcing compliance with Appraiser Qualifications Board
(“AQB”) continuing education criteria is not acceptable.
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The Appraisal Subcommittee found in its review of Wisconsin’s real estate appraiser
regulatory program that, “Wisconsin’s process for enforcing compliance with Appraiser
Qualifications Board (“AQB”) continuing education criteria is not acceptable.” The ASC concerns
about the CE audit process focused on the amount of time appraisers were allowed to practice after
being found non-compliant (60 days following notification of non-compliance to obtain the CE
hours), and the fact that the department did not immediately remove the auditees from the National
Registry or take disciplinary action on the state credentials upon the finding of non-compliance.
You stated, “...the audit process must be timely and it needs to be coupled with a very strong
enforcement and suspension program.”

To respond to these concerns the Department plans to take the following steps with respect
to future audits. These steps will shorten the timeline and improve enforcement efforts.

1. The audit will continue to select 10% of recent renewals, and will occur closer to the
renewal date. The audit for the 2002-2003 renewal period was initiated in February, 2004. The
audit of 2004-2005 and subsequent renewal periods will be conducted during the month of January
following each renewal period.

2. The audit letter will require submission of proof of CE within 10 calendar days of the
letter date. Non-respondents will receive a certified letter giving 5 additional days to respond. FAX
and express mail will be encouraged for submissions. The timeline for the audit process will be cut
from a total of 3 months to 15 days.

3. Starting with the audit for the 2004-2005 renewal period, the names of those credential
holders found to be non-compliant due to incomplete CE or failure to respond to requests for
information during the audit, will be withheld from the National Registry until written verification
of completion of the continuing education requirements is received. As provided under s. 440.08
(4), Stats., those individuals will be served with a notice of denial of the right to be placed on the
National Registry and an opportunity for a hearing on the denial. In addition, the names of those
found to be non-complaint will be referred to the Division of Enforcement for possible disciplinary
action. The non-compliant auditees will be advised that they may be subject to discipline
including, but not limited to, suspension or revocation of their credentials. Any resulting discipline
will be reported to the National Registry.

4. The Department’s implementation of these changes will be publicized to credential
holders via the Regulatory Digest, a publication mailed to all licensed and certified appraisers, and
information will be included in renewal notices.

5. Names of first-time offender credential holders will be restored to the National Registry
upon correction of education deficiency and payment of late renewal fees, though the record of
state discipline will continue to be posted on the National Registry. First time offenders who have
been restored will be audited again. Repeat offenders may receive more severe penalties. These
disciplines, too, will be reported to the National Registry if, and when, the credential holders renew
their credentials.



e The Department does not use the ASC Web site’s License History Report feature to
expedite processing temporary practice and reciprocal applications.

Based upon the recommendations contained in the Appraisal Subcommittee’s audit report,
the Department now relies upon the ASC’s website’s license history report feature to expedite
processing temporary practice and reciprocal credentials. Applicants for these credentials are no
longer required to request “letters of good standing” from other States.

If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact me at (608) 266-8609 or
the Legal Counsel for the Real Estate Appraisers Board, Ruby Jefferson-Moore, at (608) 266-
3679.




